Go to content

Main menu:

Scheduled Events


10:00 “Alien worlds, alien weather: Investigating exoplanet atmospheres”

 José da Silva

11:00 “Drizzle, showers or storms – how’s the weather tonight?”
Tim Cooper
12:00 “Living in the shadow of a variable star, the Sun”
 Dr Pieter Kotzé, SANSA Space Science, Hermanus

 14:00 "Mars and its dynamic atmosphere - a world so different, yet so familiar"
Clyde Foster, ASSA Shallow Sky Director

15:00 “Astrophotography in the urban context”
Angus Burns

16:00 “Photographing the northern lights for the first time"

16:00 "The Science in South Africa's Rarest Books"

Teachers Workshop
“Earth and Beyond”
by Msizi Khathide, NRF/SAASTA
“How to build an analemmatic sundial”
by Dr Pierre de Villiers, ASSA
9am and 1pm
Pre-booking by 20 August

participants demonstrate skills and research capability

Fun Science
Experilab Science Shows
Interactive exhibits
Digital Planetarium Shows


SCOPEX  2018
15 September  9am to 9pm

Held at Museum of Military History, Johannesburg

Visit the astronomy event of the year

Special show prices on Telescopes and Accessories

Amateur Telescope Making,  Astrophotography

Talks, Fun Science

Star Party from 6pm

Download and share

ScopeX Bulletin

ScopeX Programme and Map

ScopeX Flyer

Attention Schools and Youth Organisations

Sterren Schitteren Voor Iedereen

is offering two telescopes  donated by BRESSER
to be allocated to worthy causes
Submit Application by 20 August

Exhibit your ATM and Astrophotography

Guidelines for exhibits

- - -

Items donated for Raffle

Come buy your Raffle ticket at ScopeX from 9am to 17:30
Raffle draw at 6pm
Tickets must be presented at ScopeX to be eligible to win item

donated by CANON-SA

MEADE Infinity 70mm Altazimuth Refractor

donated by SINGER Photographic

CELESTRON  22402 Inspire 80AZ  Refractor

donated by G&L Agencies

MEADE StarNavigator NG 90mm Achromatic Refractor

donated by SINGER Photographic  

CELESTRON 22203 Astrofi 130 Newtonian

donated by  G&L Agencies

 (Site last updated 14 August 2018   20:00)


Special show prices by

Commercial Exhibitors

Bring home built items

Bring your astro photos


Our heart-felt thanks go to all ScopeX Sponsors and Exhibitors

Non-Commercial Sponsers 2018

ScopeX is proud to be sponsored by
Department of Science and Technology

- The South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement is a business Unit of the National Research Foundation.

Many thanks to Sci-Bono Discovery Centre
, South African Astronomical Observatory , SKA Africa, EUNAWE for their support

Commercial Sponsers 2018
Many thanks to all companies donating items
Without generous sponsorship, this event would not be possible


Many thanks to all amateur groups that have supported ScopeX in the past:
Astronomical Society of Southern Africa Centres
West Rand Astronomy Club

Unika Voortrekkerkommando

Many thanks to Park Town Boys High School - and particularly John Scott - for accommodating the ATM class for over a decade


Back to content | Back to main menu